Sweetwater Texas Chamber of Commerce Sweetwater Texas Chamber of Commerce Sweetwater Texas Chamber of Commerce

Nolan County Foundation

The Nolan County Foundation was organized in the year 2000 by dedicated Sweetwater businessmen interested in creating an entity to promote worthwhile projects benefitting our community. The original founding members were Glenn Bennett, JV Martin, Rod Wetsel, Ronnie Cox, Bill Johnson, Ronnie Williams, Jerry Riggs, Homer Taylor and the late Jere Lawrence. Board members added since that time include Jan Smith, John Jay, Tom Rees, Chris Casto, Cheyenne Smith, Art Maberry and Carolyn Lawrence, who currently serves as Chairman. Leah Andrews, Executive Director of the Sweetwater Chamber of Commerce serves as Secretary.

The Nolan County Foundation is a 501 (c)(3) deriving its non-profit status through its affiliation with the Community Foundation of Abilene.

Directed accounts of the Nolan County Foundation include the Hazel F Nunn Endowment for the Nolan County-City Library, the Hazel Nunn Scholarship Endowment Fund which awards scholarships to Nolan County students attending Hardin Simmons University or TSTC, and the Lady Clyde Hooper Memorial Scholarship which awards a scholarship to a Sweetwater High School graduating senior each year.

Unrestricted accounts include the Nolan County Foundation Discretionary Endowment Fund and the Hazel Nunn Endowment of the Nolan County Foundation. Grants have been awarded to the following entities:

  • $2,000 to each of the area fire departments
  • $10,000 to the Pioneer Museum for building repairs and $15,000 to the WASP Museum for renovations.
  • $2,000 to Kids on the Land, $2,000 to the Municipal Auditorium for a new piano and $5,000 to Camp Boothe Oaks
  • $10,000 to SNAP for new tables and chairs
  • $5,700 to Rolling Plains Hospital for parallel bars and $40,000 for equipment for the physical therapy building.

Additionally scholarships have been awarded to honor high school seniors from Sweetwater, Roscoe, Blackwell and Highland who are attending a Texas college or university. The total amount awarded to date is over $250,000. This endeavor is funded by the generous donations of Sweetwater and Nolan County businesses and individuals who sponsor and support our annual golf tournament.

Grants awarded by the Nolan County Foundation are for the purpose of improving the quality of life in Nolan County. Grants must be awarded to qualified charities with a 501(c)(3) or similar status which include grants toward health, education, nutrition, scholarships, libraries, museums, parks, etc.

Donations can be made online to cfabilene.org. Specify in the special instruction box that your donation is for the Nolan County Foundation.

Or donations can be mailed to :

Nolan County Foundation
P.O. Box 237
Sweetwater, TX 79556
Phone # (325)235-5488